top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria Paz Martinez

Art within Art : Pixel Designs

My partner Sarah and I wanted to initially grab a work of art, pixelate it, and have the pixels come towards the screen through the z-axis, in almost an exploding fashion. We looked through many different vibrant works of art and we finally decided on using this work of art, we found on the internet:

We decided to go another route and have the pixels fade in. We used alpha to fade in the pixels, but we thought it looked too boring and predictable. We had to figure out a way to have the pixels fade in as well as appear in a randomized order. We found out about the shuffle function that randomizes the order of elements in an array. We used the shuffle function and created a corresponding x and y array. We initially had the pixels skip by 10 but we wanted the pixels to end up looking like the original painting so we reduced it to 2. We decided to add back in the alpha function to add an elusive feel to the pixel art. Three words I would describe our work is vibrant, elusive, and scattered. Here is our finished piece:








22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Color Me Piano (UPDATE)

My initial design was a piano that the keys changed color when hovered over them. I wanted to make the code more neat and concise so I decided to make a for loop () for the series of keys as well as a

Color Me Piano

I worked with my partner Sophie to create this colorful piano. I came up with the concept of creating the piano that is interactive through the colorful keys and she helped me create the dimensions. W

bottom of page